Category / Topic Archives: DIR complaints


Work Comp attorneys have been busy!
By admin on October 16, 2015

The monthly meeting of the workers’ compensation attorneys who represent injured workers was named the Workers Comp Working Group by the Nevada Justice Association with the presentation of a plaque. It was given to attorneys from the group who attended the annual NJA conference this past weekend in Long Beach California. JP Kemp, Jason Mills, … Continue reading Work Comp attorneys have been busy!

Shame on DIR-Lame response to petition
By admin on September 14, 2015

I wish I could say I’m surprised by the lame response by DIR (Division of Industrial Relations) to the Petition I file d in July for DIR to do its job and have an actuary review the discount rate used to convert permanent partial disability awards to present value lump sums.  After you read DIR’s … Continue reading Shame on DIR-Lame response to petition

DIR Conference Oriented Toward Insurers
By admin on August 24, 2015

The fifth annual Division of Industrial Relations Workers’ Compensation conference, held on August 19 and 20, 2015, was attended mostly by people servicing employers , insurers,  and third-party administrators in the workers’ compensation industry in Nevada.  Few of the speakers focused on educating the attendees about the needs of injured workers, with the notable exception … Continue reading DIR Conference Oriented Toward Insurers


Benefit Penalties: Updated Info from DIR
By admin on January 24, 2014

 I received a letter from Charles Verre, Chief Administrative Officer of the Workers’ Compensation Section of the Division of Industrial Relations responding to my request for more information about the number of benefit penalties against insurers and third-party administrators by DIR.  (DIR investigates complaints by injured workers that insurers and/or their third-party administrators are violating … Continue reading Benefit Penalties: Updated Info from DIR

A New and Better Regulatory Agency For Nevada Work Comp Claims?
By admin on November 27, 2013

      The Nevada Justice Association, comprised of plaintiffs’ attorneys, has a small off-shoot group of workers’ compensation attorneys who represent injured workers.  I joined this group, started by Billie-Marie Morrison of Craig Kenny & Associates this past year, and I’m glad I did.  The attorneys who attend freely share their practice tips, and … Continue reading A New and Better Regulatory Agency For Nevada Work Comp Claims?

DIR Conference on Nevada Work Comp
By admin on August 24, 2013

On August 15-16, the Division of Industrial Relations (DIR) held its annual educational conference for anyone interested in the Nevada workers’ compensation system.  I was unable to attend many of the break-out sessions, but was present for the panel discussions with the key DIR employees responsible for insurer compliance with the law.  Previously, i wrote in … Continue reading DIR Conference on Nevada Work Comp


Nevada Workers’ Comp: Who or What is DIR?
By admin on July 23, 2013

I’m grateful that my social media consultant knows only what she’s read in my blog posts about the Nevada workers’ compensation system, because she reminds me that my intended readers, like her, may  know little about the system.   After reading my last blog post about DIR complaints, she saw that I didn’t  give the full … Continue reading Nevada Workers’ Comp: Who or What is DIR?

DIR Statistics Disappointing for Injured Workers
By admin on July 20, 2013

 Last year when I contacted the Research and Analysis Supervisor of the Workers’ Compensation Section of the Industrial Insurance Regulation Section of the DIR, I was told that only 31 benefit penalties were issued in 2011.  I just received statistical information for Fiscal Year 2013 (July 1, 2012 to July 1, 2013), and over this … Continue reading DIR Statistics Disappointing for Injured Workers

DIR Complaints Are Insufficient Remedy
By admin on July 11, 2012

 In 1995, the Nevada legislature passed a law, NRS 616D.030,  that injured workers could no longer sue workers’ compensation insurers or the third-party administrators who handle comp claims .Injured workers had been filing  lawsuits for money damages against  insurer’s or TPA’s for their  "bad faith" or negligence in denying or delaying medical care and compensation … Continue reading DIR Complaints Are Insufficient Remedy


Workplace Safety In Nevada
By admin on April 22, 2009

Congratulations to Alexandra Berzon, a journalist with the Las Vegas Sun, for recently winning the Pulitzer Prize for Public Service for her investigative reporting last year of the 9 construction workers who died at CityCenter in a 16-month time period. Ms. Berzon continues to report on the reforms, or rather the lack of significant reforms to … Continue reading Workplace Safety In Nevada


Virginia Hunt Law Office on BBB, Better Business Bureau website AV preeminent attorney for ethical standards and legal ability 2011 Top 25 Legal Blog; Workers Compensation Law 2012 Top 25 Legal Blog; Workers Compensation Law 2013 Top 25 Legal Blog; Workers Compensation Law 2014 Top 25 Legal Blog; Workers Compensation Law